Let it snow

This week I have discovered a new form of excercise – shovelling snow. We have about 8-10 inches at the moment, and on Tuesday the kids stayed home and I got quite a bit of excercise building a snowman and an attempt at an igloo (not very successful). Then this morning I had to clear a path down the drive for my wife to do the school run, with a silly little shovel not designed for the purpose – that was hard work.

Walked to/from the station again today, and also had walks of over an hour on Sunday and Tuesday, so I’m having a good week for excercise already. Will probably walk to station at least once more this week, because it’s easier than digging my car up! Not quite so good for food, slipping back into snacking and deserts quite a bit and portion sizes may have crept up at the odd meal too. It hasn’t been terrible, but several biscuits a day kind of thing. One day was much worse – Monday I think. Today has been better. Been struggling to catch up with work all week and when I’m chasing my tail like this I can easily drift into a short term mode where nothing but surviving the day matters, and then I lose motivation. Also missed my proper breakfast Monday/Tuesday – that always mucks my day up. Porridge rocks!

I’ve been staring at red things a lot following my last hypnotherapy session, which are supposed to increase my motivation. Is it working? I don’t think so really. I’m also struggling with the hypnotherapy MP3 this week, have abandoned it part way twice because I just couldn’t get into it. Maybe it’s just got too repetitive, or maybe I’m just in the wrong frame of mind.

Ordered my Swingball on Ebay on Sunday, still waiting for it to show up. Not that I would get much use of it just now with all the snow, which doesn’t look like going any time soon.  But I still want to get my hands on it, it’s another positive step.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment